1820 - 18861886 - 19001901 - 19391940 - 19721973 - 20002001 -
2011
1973 - 20002001 -
This is the "Home" page of the "Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives  

The McDaniel College Archives at Hoover Library was established in 1975 as the repository for the records of the College that are of historical value and for other documents and artifacts related to its history.
Last Updated: May 16, 2012 URL: http://libguides.hoover.mcdaniel.edu/archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

 

The McDaniel College Archives at Hoover Library was established in 1969 as the repository for the records of the College that are past their active use cycle and are of historical value and for other documents and artifacts that are related to the history of the College or of interest to faculty for the purpose of engaging the College's students in scholarly research as an integral part of their liberal arts education.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Click on Using Archives: A Guide written by Laura Schmidt and provided by the Society of American Archivists.  The guide  will explain:

  • How archives function                                                                     
  • How to identify appropriate archives for your research
  • How to access historical material and research at an archives


Location

The Archives is located on the second floor of the Hoover Library at McDaniel College.  The Archives is opened from 8:30 am to 1:30 pm Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  Tuesday and Thursday  hours are 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm during fall and spring semesters only, otherwise Archives hours are 8:30 am to 1:30 pm. The Archives is closed when the Library is closed.  It is strongly suggested you call or email the Archivist to make an appointment.

 

 

Collection Information

The  McDaniel College Archives oversees three different types of collections:

Archives - is the repository of non-current official records produced by or for McDaniel College because of their continuing or enduring value.  The prefix for these records is RG.

Manuscripts -  are papers produced by and for individuals.  Many of the manuscript collections in Hoover Library are the papers and memorabilia of alumni and faculty. The prefix for manuscript collections is MS.

Special Collections -  roots are in rare book collections.  For many years libraries would pull from the stacks rare books or books of local interest and place them together in a separate collection that could be more easily accessed by patrons and monitored by librarians.  Book collections on certain subjects were often donated by patrons and these too were placed into a separate collections to keep them cohesive. Many of these donated book collections contained other types of material including manuscript, memorabilia, and objects that are related to a subject or interest.  The term "rare book collections" became too constrictive to the contents and the term special collections was used.  Most of the special collections in Hoover Library were donated by faculty, alumni, and patrons.  The prefix for special collections is SpC.

Archives Catalog - clicking this tab will take you directly to the Archives catalog.  This catalog includes archives, manuscripts, and special collections Click on a tab on the home page to search by collection, creator (or collector), or record group.  This will open and alphabetical index.  Click on the letter that begins the last name of the creator, collector, or the name of a group (as in F for faculty or P for Phi Beta Kappa).  Click on the subject tab for a broader search.  Again click on the letter that begins the name of the subject (as in S for students) and all the collections that have been tagged with that subject will appear.  The catalog is under construction and being populated weekly with collection information, so if you cannot find what you are looking for please contact the Archives.  You can also click the other tabs at the top to see the collections in the Archives.

Note:  A search of the Archives' catalog displays information about a collection -  a brief description, citation information, size in linear feet, copyright information, any restrictions to use, and a list of boxes and folders in a collection - it does not, in most cases, display facsimile's of original documents or artifacts in a collection.

 


 

Researchers are encouraged to use all these collections.  However there may be restrictions on some of the collections.  To learn more about these collections click on collection types on the above tabs.

All collections in the Archives are non-circulating and must be used in the Archives during Archives hours.

Contact Info

Profile Image
Barbara O'Brien
Contact Info
Please call 410/857-2793 or email bobrien@mcdaniel.edu for an appointment
Semester hours:
Mon., Wed.,& Fri. - 8:30 am to 1:30 pm
Tue.& Thur. - 12:00 noon to 5:00 pm
Non-semester hours:
Mon.-Fri. - 8:30 am to 1:30 pm
Send Email
Subjects:
archives
Looking for information in another subject?:
Click here for a list of all of the subject guides
Still have questions?:
Ask a Librarian
 

Archive Hours

Spring and Fall Sememster:

M, W, F: 8:30am - 1:30pm

T and Th: 12:00pm - 5:00pm


Summer, January Term,

and Breaks:

M-F: 8:30am - 1:30pm


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip