1820 - 18851886 - 19001901 - 19391940 - 19721973 - 20002001 -
2011201220132014
This is the "Home" page of the "Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
McDaniel College Hoover Library
McDaniel College Archives (est. 1975) is the repository for the records of the College that are of historical value.
Last Updated: Jun 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.hoover.mcdaniel.edu/archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

 

The McDaniel College Archives at Hoover Library was established in 1969 as the repository for the records of the College that are past their active use cycle and are of historical value and for other documents and artifacts that are related to the history of the College or of interest to faculty for the purpose of engaging the College's students in scholarly research as an integral part of their liberal arts education.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Click on Using Archives: A Guide written by Laura Schmidt and provided by the Society of American Archivists.  The guide  will explain:

  • How archives function                                                                     
  • How to identify appropriate archives for your research
  • How to access historical material and research at an archives


In Guide Search:

_________________________

Location

The Archives is located on the second floor of the Hoover Library at McDaniel College.   It is strongly suggested you call or email the Archivist to make an appointment.

 

 

Collection Information

The  McDaniel College Archives oversees three different types of collections:

Archives - is the repository of non-current official records produced by or for McDaniel College that are kept for the continuing and enduring value to the College's history.  The prefix for these records is RG.

Manuscripts -  are papers produced by and for individuals.  Many of the manuscript collections in Hoover Library are the papers and memorabilia of alumni and faculty. The prefix for manuscript collections is MS.

Special Collections -   are related to a subject or interest and may contain several types of material including books, manuscripts, memorabilia, and other artifacts.   The prefix for special collections is SpC.

_____________________________________________________________


Archives Catalog - clicking this tab will take you directly to the Archives catalog.  The catalog includes archives, manuscripts, and special collections Click on a tab on the home page to search by collection, creator (or collector), or record group.  This will open the alphabetical index.  Click on the letter that begins the last name of the creator, collector, or the name of a group (as in F for faculty or P for Phi Beta Kappa).  Click on the subject tab for a broader search.  Again click on the letter that begins the name of the subject (as in S for students) and all the collections that have been tagged with that subject will appear.  You may also enter a name, subject, or topic in the search box at the top of the page.  The search will bring up related items that are in the catalog.  Records and collections are constantly being added to catalog. If you cannot find what you are looking for please contact the Archives. 

Note:  A search of the Archives' catalog displays information about a collection -  a brief description, citation information, size in linear feet, copyright information, access restrictions, and a list of boxes and folders in a collection - it does not, in most cases, display facsimile's of original documents or artifacts in a collection.

 


 

Researchers are encouraged to use all these collections.  However there may be restrictions on some of the collections.  If the material you wish to research is restricted please contact the Archives.

All collections in the Archives are non-circulating and must be used in the Archives during Archives hours.

Contact Info

Profile Image
Barbara O'Brien
Contact Info
Please call 410/857-2793 or email bobrien@mcdaniel.edu for an appointment

Have a question?
Send Email
Looking for information in another subject?
Click here for a list of all of the subject guides
Still have questions?
Ask a Librarian
 

Archive Hours

 

Archive Hours:

M, W, F:

8:30am - 1:30pm

T & Th:

12:00noon - 5:00pm

 Archives will be closed when the Library is closed.

Summer Closures of Archives only:

June:  6-11;  13 at noon;  and 20.

July:  3 at noon, 11, and 25.

August:  1 at noon, 8, and 22-29.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip