This is the "Home" page of the "Dictionaries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dictionaries  

Last Updated: Apr 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.hoover.mcdaniel.edu/dictionaries Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sign Language Dictionaries

Handspeak
Formerly Sign Language Dictionary Online - at Deaf World Web


YourDictionary.com
A collection of sign language dictionaries.

 
 

Abbreviations & Acronyms


Acronym Finder
"With more than 900,000 human-edited definitions, Acronym Finder is the world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.


 
 

Thesauri

 

Location in Hoover Library

Location in Hoover Library    

Language dictionaries and thesauri are in the 400s section of the Reference collection. Other types of dictionaries are located under the subject of the dictionary, e.g. medical dictionaries are in the medical section, financial dictionaries are in the business section, etc. Dictionaries in the reference collection may not be checked out. Dictionaries in the general circulating collection can be checked out.

 

English Dictionaries

Webster's Online Dictionary
Dictionary and thesaurus

Oxford English Dictionary
"the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past."

Dictionary.com
Dictionary, thesaurus, and translator.

Word Spy
A web site that gathers "recently coined words, existing words that have enjoyed a recent renaissance, and older words that are being used in new ways."

OneLook
Search multiple dictionaries at the same time.

Wordsmyth
Dictionary and thesaurus


YourDictionary.com
"YourDictionary.com has been recognized as the authoritative resource for online dictionary and thesaurus use..."

 
 

Translating Dictionaries


American Translators Association: ATA Online Directories
"This site contains directories of thousands of individual translators and interpreters, and companies offering translation services. Searchable by language, location, and specialty."

All Free Dictionaries Project
"This site provides over 120 free dictionaries for translating over 52 languages. The project is interactive in the sense that everyone is welcome to add new translations or correct existing entries."

Yahoo! Babel Fish
"Machine translation of English from and into several European languages, plus Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. You can enter text or a website address to be translated."

TravLang
"Translates your words from English to German, Dutch, French, Spanish, Italian, Danish, Portuguese, Finnish, Hungarian, Czech, Afrikaans, Latin, or Esperanto, as well as from each of these languages to the others. Includes phrases."

 

My Profile

Profile Image
Sally Jones
Contact Info
Reference and Instruction Coordinator
Reference Office, located on first floor of Hoover Library
(410) 857-2287
sajones@mcdaniel.edu
Send Email
Looking for information in another subject?:
Click here for a list of all of the subject guides
Still have questions?:
Ask a Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip