Chicago StyleMLA Style
This is the "Find Books and Media" page of the "Cinema" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
McDaniel College Hoover Library

Cinema   Tags: cinema, film, media, screenwriting  

This guide serves as a good starting point for conducting research in cinema and media studies.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.hoover.mcdaniel.edu/film Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Books and Media Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Starter

If you would like to browse the stacks, some helpful areas are:

790 Recreational and performing arts

791 Public performances

800 Literature and rhetoric (for books about screenwriting)

Research Starter Search for articles, books, media and more in our Discovery Service:
 

DVDs and Videos

Search Research Starter for media by doing a keyword search and then using the limit on the left side of the screen for Videos. This will show DVDs, VHSs, and links to our streaming video collections.

Highlight check box for videos

Please note: Our collection of DVDs and VHS tapes is currently located behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library. After looking up a film you'd like to check out, write down the call number (ex. DVD 0123) and bring it with you to the desk. We'll find the item and check it out to you.

 

There are viewing stations on the 2nd floor of the library in the AV room. Remotes and headphones can be checked out for:

  • DVD Players
  • All region DVD Player
  • VCRs
  • TVs

Streaming Video Collections

You can find streaming media by searching in Research Starter and using the limits for Video. To access the videos through there, you will need to click on View Catalog Record

Highlight link for view catalog record

Then in the catalog, look for the following link:

Or, you can search directly within the streaming collections below:

  • Academic Video Online
    "Academic Video Online features a single, fully integrated platform, offering access to full-length streaming video titles. Virtually every video in the collection is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type. As a result, students and scholars can combine keyword and fielded search capabilities to frame creative and highly targeted queries."
  • Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video
    “A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos 24/7. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system.”
  • New World Cinema (Accessible through June 30, 2015)
    "Includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films (1990-present)." (Academic Video Online)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brynne Norton
 

Need Help?

                                
phone

  By Phone: 410-857-2282

  

 

people In person: Stop by the Research Help Desk or schedule an appointment with a Liaison Libarian

  

cell phone

Text: (410) 346-5640.

   

 

laptopOnline: Search our FAQs or submit a question if it hasn't been asked!

 

Unger Contribution

W. Byers Unger and Katherine Leidy Unger Bookplate

 

These databases are made possible through the generous contribution of W. Byers Unger and Katherine Leidy Unger.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip