What's New about this search box?
Using Ebsco's Discovery Service (EDS), we've created a single search box called Research Starter. This replaces our two previous search boxes (Find Articles-integrated search & Find Books-online catalog).
A discovery tool like EDS is a "...web software that searches journal-article and library-catalog metadata in a unified index and presents search results in a single interface."
This is different from a federated search tool like Ebsco Integrated Search, which "...searches multiple databases and aggregates the results."
From: Usability test results for a discovery tool in an academic library. Information Technology and Libraries. 31.1 (Mar. 2012) p83.
What's Not Included?
There are a few article databases that cannot be directly included and will instead appear in an "Additional Resources" box at the right of the search results screen:
What's Included? - Article Databases & Online Catalog
- Most of our article databases (ebsco and others)
- Books, eBooks, DVD's, CD's, streaming video from our online catalog
- All libraries and collections, EXCEPT Carroll Community College ebooks (we don't have access to these)
What's Included? - open source full-text article resources
arXiv - bibliographic records with links to full text for over 600,000 preprints of scientific papers.
British Library EThOS -theses from participating higher education institutions in the UK & includes more than 290,000 theses dating back to the 1600s. Many are available for free.
CogPrints - electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience and Linguistics and in many areas of Computer Science, Biology, Medicine, Anthropology, & other fields related to cognition.
Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (DASH) -over 8,000 scholarly articles, theses and dissertations, papers, and reports authored by Harvard faculty and students. Some full text available.
Directory of Open Access Journals -freely available scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content & includes over 7,700 journals and 801,000 articles.
Government Printing Office Catalog - includes federal publications from the following catalogues: Congressional Serial Set Catalog, Congressional Publications, GPO Access Publications, Internet Publications, Periodicals, and Serials.
Manuscriptorium -a single digital library database from the resources previously held in libraries throughout the European Union and beyond. Includes books and some archival documents. Provides access to digital copies of the documents.
OAISTER - contains more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors. Includes freely available full text on the web.
University of Pittsburgh Repositories -five open-access collections from the University of Pittsburgh: Aphasiology Archive; Archive of European Integration; Industry Studies Working Papers; Minority Health & Health Equity Archive; PhilSci Archive.
What's Included? - Indexes to even more resources
- Harvard Bibliography Dataset - 12 million records from Harvard University's online catalog.
- Reference Search - 40 million citations to scholarly journals indexed in all Ebsco article databases.
- China/Asia On Demand (Chinese) - 8 million journal articles from China and Asia in general.
- Persee (French) - refereed French journals in the field of humanities and contains more than 390,000 articles.
- ScholarVox (French) - over 25,000 eBooks produced by Paris-based aggregator Cyberlibris on a wide array of topics (French, English, some Spanish and Italian).
- Econis (German) - 4 million records for worldwide economic literature in German, English, and other languages.
- SSOAR - (German) - more than 424,000 social science publications covering many areas of social sciences, plus research on women, leisure, gerontology and social welfare.
- TEMA (German) - more than 4 million bibliographic references geared toward engineers, technicians and scientists with content pulled from a wealth of German and international sources.